This page is for tracking anything related with the 2024 GNU Guix/Guile conference and hackathon on February 1st and 2nd — right before FOSDEM2024 and the Declarative and Minimalistic Computing devroom.

Annual GNU Guix (un)conference. This event is a FOSDEM 2024 fringe event.


GNU Guix is growing rapidly and has gone from a software packaging system to a full tool stack aimed at reproducible software deployment and development. GNU Guix is a toolkit that allows developers to integrate reproducible software deployment into their applications—as opposed to leaving it up to the user. GNU Guix is based on the GNU Guile programming language which makes it a very versatile and hackable (in the good sense) environment.


Thursday, February 1st and February 2nd 2024, the two days before FOSDEM.

Coffee at 9:30AM, and starting at 10AM.


Institute of Cultural Affairs (ICAB) Rue Amedee Lynen 8 1210 Brussels (map), Belgium.


We had some talks in the morning and hacking and discussions the rest of the day. Two days of GNU Guix bliss.

The event targeted an audience of Guix developers and users.

In pure "unconference" style, the rest of the program was made by participants as we went, with hands-on sessions organised in subgroups. The following session topics were proposed:

  1. GNU Guix status update & road map
  2. GNU Guix online documentation
  3. Alternative target architectures (ARM, RISCV, POWER etc.)
  4. Project governance & facilitation: RFC process, teams, maintenance, release management
  5. Sustaining our infrastructure: planning to keep qa.guix, data.guix, ci.guix, etc. afloat
  6. Spritely, Guix, and Guile—the ''amazing'' trio!
  7. Next steps for GSoC paramaterized packages
  8. Re-imagining the Guix CLI, now with actual forethought and consistency!

Presentations and notes

Day 1

Main track:


Day 2


Ideas that didn’t make it to sessions

Code of conduct

Be aware that attendees implicitly abide by the code of conduct as stated by FOSDEM. As this is a FOSDEM fringe event the organizers can be contacted in case of a problem.


  1. Gabor Boskovits
  2. Janneke Nieuwenhuizen
  3. Ludovic Courtès
  4. Pjotr Prins
  5. Manolis Ragkoukis
  6. Yvan Sraka
  7. Efraim Flashner
  8. Jonathan McHugh
  9. Arun Isaac
  10. Wilko Meyer
  11. Tanguy Le Carrour
  12. Ekaitz Zarraga
  13. Fabio Natali
  14. Rutger van Beusekom
  15. Andreas Enge
  16. Edino Tavares Moniz
  17. Collin Doering
  18. Christopher Baines
  19. Christine Lemmer-Webber
  20. Robin Templeton
  21. Julien Lepiller
  22. pukkamustard
  23. Alexey Abramov
  24. Perelandra
  25. Steve George
  26. Juliana Sims
  27. Jelle Licht
  28. Michael Bauer
  29. Rostislav Svoboda
  30. Jonathan Brielmaier
  31. Fernando Ayats
  32. Romain Garbage
  33. Samuel Matthiesen
  34. Picnoir
  35. Ramses de Norre
  36. Simon Tournier
  37. Gwen
  38. NLNet rep.
  39. Arjan Adriaanse
  40. Ricardo Wurmus
  41. Lio Novelli
  42. Jurij Podgoršek
  43. Tobias Platen
  44. Sven Plaga
  45. Guido
  46. Adriel Dumas
  47. Danny Milosavljevic
  48. Adam McCartney


Attendance is free. We will ask a voluntary contribution for consumptions.

Source code of this site.